Madison Sees Venus

As I mentioned in a previous post, the sky has been amazing lately, and my daughter and I have definitely been taking advantage of it. We have spent a good part of nearly every night this week looking up.

This past Tuesday, as we drove home in the evening, my daughter was absolutely fascinated by the sky. She was thrilled at the thought that the planets and the moon were “following us home,” and wanting to take advantage of her curiosity, we took the telescope out as soon as we got home and pointed it right towards the incredibly bright Venus. Here is the photograph of my daughter seeing Venus for the first time. I has to be my favorite picture of her. I was carrying her so that she could reach the telescope and she was just about squirming out of my arms to get a better look.

9 thoughts on “Madison Sees Venus

  1. That’s awesome. I need to do this with J but he’s easily distracted – like his Dad LOL

    We had tornados in our area today but the sky cleared up around twilight – my favourite time of day. The half moon hung in the sky. Venus was brilliant and Jupiter was nearby. I stopped and stared for a few, like I usually do.

    I went to the bookstore and spent ten minutes looking for the astronomy books. Eventually I found them, hidden in a corner. There were more books on sex than astronomy in that store. When I looked through the “astronomy” books, most of them were the coffee table kind – full of glossy pages and photos with very little actual content. The kind of books your kind-hearted aunt or uncle buys you as a kid, thinking you’ll learn from them. Sorry, I guess that sounds kinda cynical LOL It was just disappointing.

    BTW, if you haven’t already, look out for 365 Starry Nights by Chet Raymo. I’m sure you both will love it and will learn from it 🙂

    Clear skies!

      • I went out and bought a used copy for J today. I used to have it, years ago, but gave to a co-worker whose daughter was into astronomy. Hopefully J will enjoy it too.

        I’m glad you liked the post. I’m beginning to realise there’s a lot of pleasure, warmth and – frankly – validation to be found when others enjoy your writing.

        Clear skies!

Leave a Reply

