A Short Film about Magical Books

Right after publishing my last post about World Book Night, I was reminded by a post in The Haints that today is actually World Book Day, and in celebration they posted the most wonderful little animated film, so wonderful that I had to share. It captures the wonder and magic of books in such a touching and beautiful way.

The film is titled The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, and it just won the Oscar for Best Animated Short.

Happy World Book Day, and Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “A Short Film about Magical Books

  1. Pingback: A Short Film about Magical Books | Strong in the Broken Places

  2. I saw this film at a film festival last summer. At the time, I felt it was primarily a parable about Katrina. (Note the strong New Orleans references throughout the film, which was made “entirely in Louisiana.”)

    • I’m from New Orleans, and was there for Katrina, but other than the tiny ‘NOLA’ at beginning of the film, and the mentions of Louisiana in the credits, I found no New Orleans references throughout the film. In fact, I read your comment before watching it, so I was actively looking for the references. Help me out….what did I miss?

      • Well, the first two minutes of the film appear to be set in the French Quarter, the storm that begins around the 1 minute mark is a hurricane, the main character is a Francophone (sleeping on a French book at the 7 minute mark, operating on a French book at the 8 minute mark), many references to New Orleans architecture, etc.

  3. I watched this last night! Amazing! I especially love the part when Mr. Morris tried to rescue the book from dying. 🙂

    Happy World Book Day!

  4. Pingback: A Short Film about Magical Books | | Four Blue Hills (A repository, of sorts)

  5. That was absolutely wonderful Betty! It took me on a trip down memory lane–when I was a little laddie going to the library.

    Thanks for sharing. God bless you..

Leave a Reply

