Day 3, Revisited: Books that have made me laugh

I was looking through some of my books this past weekend in a vain attempt to put some order to my shelves, and I realized that I was completely wrong in my response to day three of the Thirty Day Book Challenge. I had originally selected Gore Vidal’s Live from Golgotha, and although I certainly did laugh my way through the book with its unapologetic irreverence, as i looked through my less obviously funny academic books, I realized that they were the ones that truly made me laugh.

I’m not kidding, let me explain. I don’t tend to find humor in obvious places, but I do (I think) have a sense of humor. The vast majority of my reading consists of academic non-fiction, and let me tell you, these historians have a wonderful sense of humor! I think I’ve laughed more reading Isaiah Berlin and Peter Gay than while reading anything labeled as comedy. Thankfully, I annotate my books heavily so I can back this claim up. Allow me to submit the evidence, although I know that I will be dropping some serious “cool points” by showing this…

and yes, even footnotes can be funny...

9 thoughts on “Day 3, Revisited: Books that have made me laugh

  1. The third image is from A Godless Jew: Freud, Atheism, and the Making of Psychoanalysis, by Peter Gay, and the fourth is from Education of the Senses: The Bourgeois Experience, Victoria to Freud, also by Gay. Both EXCELLENT reads.

    … and thanks 🙂

  2. LOL I particularly liked the “source of infinite boredom” text…

    Being English and middle-aged, I have to say the funniest books I’ve read are the Secret Diaries of Adrian Mole and the Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy series.

    I could quote HHGTTG til the cows come home… or more usually, the twin suns set over Magrathea.

  3. Oh my – this is a first! I really appreciate your humor. I think the closest I have to this is when I had to translate a Horatian satire from Latin and realized the Loeb & Loeb I was using as reference completely left out a particularly naughty bit from its English translation. Got a good giggle from that and even bigger giggle that they left the original Latin! I felt like Stephen Fry.

  4. Being an avid library user and not actually owning a single book….this is a joy I miss….being able to scribble notes, underline, add comments. I enjoyed checking yours out. I recently started reading Philipp Blom’s A Wicked Company, it’s filled with humor…but it’s subtle. If one doesn’t understand the subject, one most likely won’t understand the humor. In this sense it’s almost like an ‘inside joke’…which makes it more personal, and more enjoyable.

  5. Pingback: Fodder for doodles: drawing Bugs Bunny « BLT

  6. Pingback: How We Read Our Books |

Leave a Reply

