Thirty Day Book Challenge

Thanks to “To a Dusty Shelf We Aspire” for the idea!

I’ve never participated in any of these blog challenges in the past, not because I haven’t thought them interesting, but simply because I’ve questioned my ability to follow through. Beverly over at To a Dusty Shelf We Aspire, however, has given me the sufficient motivation to take this one on. Moreover, this challenge seems like a way to take a literary walk down memory lane, and remember why some books were so important, loved, or otherwise impactful enough to make it on this list.

The only problem that I can foresee lies in the fact that I find it nearly impossible to think in terms of absolutes, so before I even begin I know that I will not follow the rules to the letter. I don’t think I have a “favorite” book, author, scene, etc. That being said, I will try my best.

So, is anyone else up for the challenge?

The Rules
Day 1: Favorite book
Day 2: Least favorite book
Day 3: Book that makes you laugh out loud
Day 4: Book that makes you cry
Day 5: Book you wish you could live in
Day 6: Favorite young adult book
Day 7: Book that you can quote/recite
Day 8: Book that scares you
Day 9: Book that makes you sick
Day 10: Book that changed your life
Day 11: Book from your favorite author
Day 12: Book that is most like your life
Day 13: Book whose main character is most like you
Day 14: Book whose main character you want to marry
Day 15: First “chapter book” you can remember reading as a child
Day 16: Longest book you’ve read
Day 17: Shortest book you’ve read
Day 18: Book you’re most embarrassed to say you like
Day 19: Book that turned you on
Day 20: Book you’ve read the most number of times
Day 21: Favorite picture book from childhood
Day 22: Book you plan to read next
Day 23: Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)
Day 24: Book that contains your favorite scene
Day 25: Favorite book you read in school
Day 26: Favorite nonfiction book
Day 27: Favorite fiction book
Day 28: Last book you read
Day 29: Book you’re currently reading
Day 30: Favorite coffee table book

25 thoughts on “Thirty Day Book Challenge

  1. Pingback: Day 1: My Favorite Book | Intelligent Life

  2. I almost wish I’d come across your blog at a different point, so I wouldn’t be reading and thinking, “Hey! I should do this!”

    I’ve never done one of these either (same reason), but looking at this list, I feel words are already scrabbling to be set free in response to this prompt . . .

  3. “t I find it nearly impossible to think in terms of absolutes”

    I would make some joke here and then I went back and noticed you took care to use the word “nearly”…….. 😉

  4. Pingback: Day 2: My Least Favorite Book | Intelligent Life

  5. Pingback: Ian McEwan Interviewed by Richard Dawkins | Intelligent Life

  6. Pingback: Old Photographs |

  7. Pingback: Day 3, Revisited: Books that have made me laugh |

  8. Pingback: Day 10: A Book that Changed My Life |

  9. Pingback: Thirty Day Book Challenge! | amandatheatheist

  10. Pingback: My Favorite Book (30 Day Book Challenge Day 1) « bookananda

Leave a Reply

