Our Breathtaking Galaxy

I’ve always found photos of the night sky to be particularly humbling and awe-inspiring. Living in a big city where light-pollution barely allows me to make out the major constellations, photos like these remind me of what a magnificent world we live in, and in the case of these images taken by photographer Royce Bair, that is certainly true.

In these photos we’re reminded how simply stunning our planet and our galaxy are. We have a beautiful home and would be remiss if we didn’t take the time, now and then, to allow ourselves to be awed.

To see more images, click here.

20 thoughts on “Our Breathtaking Galaxy

  1. I love how every inch of those photographs is beautiful. The foreground isn’t just something to provide contrast to the night sky but is worthy of a photograph in it’s own right. To combine them is…spectacular.

  2. This post made me start thinking about how small we all really are. Then I got depressed and went outside to look at the stars. It was freezing cold, though, so I came right back in. Pretty awesome story, huh? 🙂

  3. Possible Copyright Violation: “Our Breathtaking Galaxy”
    https://myintelligentlife.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/our-breathtaking-galaxy/

    Thank you for featuring six of my images on your blog! However, in order to prevent violation of my copyright, please give me proper attribution and a link to my web site. Please link my name “Royce Bair” to my web site: http://www.NightScapePhotos.com/

    You may also wish to feature my new NightScape Video in a new blog: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovYqcXHnwmw

    Thank you for your help,

    Royce Bair

    P.S. Please acknowledge

Leave a Reply

