‘Tis the season… for a little more astronomy!

Out of the many presents that I got for my daughter this year, the one I think we’re both most excited about is a telescope. She’s been asking for one for months now, and “Santa” finally decided to get her (and her mom) a pretty nice reflector telescope for Christmas. In anticipation of this gift we’ve been looking at astronomy pictures almost daily, and today we came across this one, again courtesy of Phil Plait (click the link as he offers, as usual, a great explanation of what it is we’re seeing here). As soon as she saw it she yelled out “It’s Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer!” And indeed, it really does look like him!

Click to see it at full resolution.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas Eve.

11 thoughts on “‘Tis the season… for a little more astronomy!

  1. Can I be adopted? By you? Altho I think I could come close to being YOUR mom, almost. Just for a telescope, please? I won’t cause any trouble, promise. 🙂

    Merry Christmas, my friend! I hope Santa brought ALL of you everything you wished for this year.

    • Haha!

      I hope your holidays were wonderful! Mine were great, it was the first year that my daughter was fully into the whole holiday thing and that just made it more special than I could ever express. And she LOVED the telescope. We’re taking it out to darker skies this week to look at the moon and planets.

      • Holidays were great! Thank you. 🙂 I am glad yours were too. I am glad she loved the telescope too. Being young is wonderful isn’t it? Everything still seems so new. I do miss that. How did her first excursion to look at the stars go?

Leave a Reply

