The Art of William Blake

After writing the latest post, I was tempted to pull my Blake off the shelf and start reading. Instead of his poetry book (an old, ratty, over-annotated copy), I instead came across Blake’s fully illustrated Jerusalem: The Emanation of the Giant Albion, and for the last hour I’ve been lost in his art.  Its been years since I really stop and take a look at his illustrations, and my god are they stunning, disquieting, evocative, and provocative.  I’ve posted a few of my favorites to share with you, and you can always go here or here for more. Enjoy.

Ancient of Days

The Wandering Moon

Pity

The Good and Evil Angels

Abel

Newton

6 thoughts on “The Art of William Blake

    • Same here. I remember coming across it for the first time when I was in high school. I had to write a paper on Blake’s “Songs of Innocence and Experience,” and I came across a book of his artwork at the university library. I was instantly captivated, and have continued to be over the years.

  1. Pingback: The Pull of Huxley | Intelligent Life

Leave a Reply

